After the Silence

At the end of the winding way, Where footsteps fade with each passing day, I stand in silence, lost in thought, Reflecting on the journey that's been brought.


The path behind, a story told, Of laughter, tears, and moments bold, But memories, like autumn leaves, decay, Forgotten now, as a new dawn breaks the day.


In this quiet place, I pause to stay, As warmth awakens, and lights the way, A ray of sunlight, pure and bright, Illuminates the present, banishing the night.


The footsteps silenced, the heart now light, I bask in the radiance, and let go the fight, For in this warmth, I find my peace, A sense of freedom, my soul releases.


In this serene moment, I start anew, As the warm ray of sunlight, shines through, No longer held by memories of the past, I step forward, into the warmth that will last.


Andries Coetsee

The Word Wielder